Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 20th, 2009

The Belle detector

The Belle detector

Last week I participated at an event designed to get Japanese high school girls interested in science. The benefit I had from it was being able to visit the KEKB accelerator. I think that for me, this must have been much more of a treat than for the girls. After all, being a particle physicist by training (albeit theoretical), I learned about these famed machines that unveil the mysteries of elementary particles for us many years ago at university and have a continued fascination for them. And in the world, there are not so many labs with accelerators worth mentioning. Apart from CERN in Geneva, DESY in Hamburg, and Fermilab and SLAC in the USA, well, there was only KEK, a name I had learned of a long time back. Little did I expect to one day touch its beam pipe with my own hand. (more…)

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers